9 Exempt Categories - The Freedom of Information Act

June 1, 2017

The United States Department of State provides nine categories of information that government agencies may withhold:

  1. classified information for national defense or foreign policy
  2. internal personnel rules and practices
  3. information that is exempt under other laws
  4. trade secrets and confidential business information
  5. inter-agency or intra-agency memoranda or letters that are protected by legal privileges
  6. personnel and medical files
  7. law enforcement records or information
  8. information concerning bank supervision
  9. geological and geophysical information


The Freedom of Information Act: U.S. Department of State – Freedom of Information Act

Recent Articles

Gregor Cassidy Secures $1 Million Software Settlement
October 17, 2018
Joe Larsen to Moderate Emerging Issues in Open Government
June 11, 2018
Market Anomaly Signaling an Oil Rally?
June 1, 2017